Welcome to Ronnie Ram's MWOY Fundraising Page!

Meet the Boy and Girl of the Year!

Apr 20, 2017
by Ronnie Ram

PLEASE JOIN ME IN DONATING & SUPPORTING THE BOY AND GIRL OF THE YEAR IN MY 10 WEEK FUNDRAISING CAMPIAGN to Raise $100,000 for research!

 

The Boy & Girl of the Year are local blood cancer survivors who serve as inspiration to the Man & Woman of the Year candidates throughout their campaigns.

Meet Ross

RossWeb2017 Boy of the Year
Acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) patient

 
Ross of Scarsdale, NY, was diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) when he was two years old in September 2014. His family noticed that he was walking with a limp and Ross kept complaining of bone pain. Ross?s family took him to the doctor where a blood test confirmed his diagnosis of all. Ross is currently in treatment and has endured intense chemotherapy, spinal taps, and loss of his hair. He is now in the maintenance phase for treatment of all; allowing him to be a normal little boy again. His hair has grown back and his personality has returned in full force!  The maintenance phase has allowed Ross to be around his family and friends and he is finishing pre-school and getting ready to enter kindergarten. He is looking forward to his second summer at camp.
 
Although Ross is in the maintenance phase, he still has to go through many more chemotherapy treatments and is still taking his oral chemotherapy on a nightly basis. In addition, Ross endures spinal taps every three months as well as steroids. Come this December, Ross will finally be declared a cancer survivor!
 
Even though Ross has had a difficult journey, his family says that he never lets them see him sweat. According to his mother, Jill, Ross is a fighter and one of the strongest boys out there! Through all of this, Ross never lost his spirit, laughter, or sense of humor. He collecting matchbox cars, playing various sports and spending time with his family and friends. Ross and his family are exciting to have him serve as the 2017 Boy of the Year!

Meet Julianna

JuliannaWeb2017 Girl of the Year
Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) survivor

At the age of 9, Julianna went from being a rambunctious, feisty, energetic little girl to a lethargic, sleepy 4th grader with pains in her abdomen. After countless visits to the doctor and an emergency room visit which included an ultrasound, CT scan and MRI, Julianna was told that she had masses over every organ in her little body. She met with the hematology/oncology doctors who sent her in for a laparoscopic biopsy of her ovary. The biopsy results came in, and Julianna was diagnosed with diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL).
 
Through her course of treatment, Julianna had undergone countless lumbar punctures, biopsies, port intersections, and IV chemo treatments. Her treatments were all inpatient, which took her away from her family and friends for at least a week at a time.
 
Through it all, Julianna remained positive and energetic. She continued to see her friends and she continued to dance. She made friends in the hospital, which helped her remain positive. She was given the nickname, ''Tough Cookie'' because that's what she was. Julianna took any setback thrown and her and battled through them all.

 

Please support my mission!

Apr 20, 2017

THE WHAT

On April 6, 2017, I will embark on a 10 week fundraising period along with others with the ultimate goal of raising over $600,000 locally and Millions Nationally. My goal is to contribute $100,000 of that through donations, corporate sponsorships and attendance at the Grand Finale on June 17th. 

THE WHY

I lost both of my parents to cancer 1 year apart. My father to Multiple Myeloma in 2005 within two years of diagnoses and my mother in 2006 following an almost two decade period of remission (she was first diagnosed in her late 30's). At the time of my father's diagnosis, the 5 year survival rate was about 7%, today, thanks to the work of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, it is over 20%. 

Today, there are millions losing their fight, a fight that we can win if the right research is funded and that is what we want to accomplish. Our honored heroes below are to amazing fighters who are currently fighting that battle.  

  

With Mom & Dad at Grad School Graduation & with  2017 Girl and Boy of the Year Patient Honories Juliana Vano and Ross Silverberg    

MY ASK

I ask for your support in 3 ways: 

  1. JOIN US AT THE GALA BY BUYING TICKETS
  2. PURCHASING PROGRAM BOOK ADS
  3. SPONSORSHIPS AT ANY LEVEL

On behalf of patients and their families, thank you very much for your support and please share with friends who would also like to donate!

 

Please also support my Team Members!

 

Barbara Cirella: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/bcirella

Bridget Gibbons: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/bgibbons

Donvil Collins: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/dcollins

Ellen Howse: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/ehowse

Jennifer Oberlender: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/joberlende

Karen Rosenfield: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/krosenfiel

Karen Spencer: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/kspencer

Kate Hough: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/khough

Maria Dunleavy: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/mdunleavy

Marie Herrero: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/mherrero

Michal Huizinga: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/mhuizinga

Nick Simard: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/nsimard

Paulina Ram: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/pramfg

Seth Rosenfield: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/srosenfiel

Victoria Landau: www.mwoy.org/pages/ctwhv/ctwhv17/vlandau

 

 

COUNTDOWN TO GRAND FINALE

Sat Jun 17, 2017 @06:00 PM  EDT

Weeks

:

Days

:

Hours

:

Minutes

:

Seconds

Support My Efforts

Register Today

My Thanks To

  • Westchester Triathlon Com...
  • Netter Foundation
  • The Rye Tri Club
  • The Netter Family Foundat...
  • Sharon and Dave Parker
  • Robert and Gail Tolchin
  • The Netter Family Foundat...
  • Betty and Andy Seraita
  • Marty and Donatella Rauch
  • Ellen Howse
  • Ellen Ivens
  • Kenneth Weinstein
  • Shoshana Hirsch
  • Greg Wolinsky
  • Bridgette Christie
  • Martha Gingrich
  • Susan Dicosola
  • Jackqueline Mclean
  • Narsha Gordon
  • Mark Roithmayr
  • Joel Hirshfield
  • bob caputo
  • The Gottlock Family
  • David Kmetz
  • Raymond Kelly
  • Stephanie Arnold
  • Melissa & Oren Hirsch
  • Jared & Stef cohen
  • Anthony Justic